Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 
Topic Tools
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Automatic instalation/updat feature (Read 6,283 times)
JonB
YaBB Administrator
YaBB Next Team
Operations Team
Beta Testers
Support Team

YaBB 2.6.0
Re: Automatic instalation/updat feature
Reply #19 - Jul 10th, 2009 at 12:15am
Post Tools
RKL wrote on Jul 9th, 2009 at 7:20am:
How about making an FTP installer for Yabb which creates the needed folders, uploads and CHMODs the files.

Umm - we could begin right here, because FTP intrinsically does not support scripting.  The installer would have to run from the client side.  LOL - hey maybe you can write a Windows one for us.

Cool

I find your lack of faith disturbing.
IP Logged

OH Eng
Past Team Members
Documentation Team

Reply #18 - Jul 9th, 2009 at 11:53am
Post Tools
RKL wrote on Jul 9th, 2009 at 7:20am:
I write desktop software for a living, and we magic away all the setup and update issues with our installers.

If YaBB was a desktop software, it would be easy to do.  But it's not... it's made to work on a wide variety of servers, each of them subject to different setups, using different OS/software, different configurations, etc.  If you look in the Quick Guide, you will see there is a recommended set of CHMODs, and alternatives, because one set of CHMODs will not work everywhere.  That's what makes it extremely difficult to do.

IP Logged

RKL
YaBB Newcomer

Installer
Reply #17 - Jul 9th, 2009 at 7:20am
Post Tools
Installing and updating Yabb is tricky and slow.

For a geek, a page or two of install or update instructions and a Google search or two might get the job done.  But many of us run "setup.exe" when we install or upgrade software.  In fact, I only run Yabb because CPanel offers it and I gave up trying to manually update to V2.4.