Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 
Topic Tools
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Modify Button (Read 7,298 times)
Captain John
Ex Member

Re: Modify Button
Reply #15 - Jun 16th, 2011 at 3:18pm
Post Tools
I am grapping at straws ... making WAG, due to not having this problem on 3 different Y2.5 sites of mine.  And it seems not any other user of Y2.5 complaining of it here.
  Did you do the code edit for the template as I posted ?
« Last Edit: Jun 16th, 2011 at 3:21pm by »  

IP Logged

CorcyraGlobal
YaBB Newcomer

YaBB 2.6.1
Reply #16 - Jun 16th, 2011 at 3:54pm
Post Tools
Hi Elrick,

Just a thought, there are two YaBB 2.5 distributions - the Full version and the Upgrade version.  The YaBB 2.5 Upgrade version only upgrades YaBB 2.3 or YaBB 2.4 installations.  The Full version is needed if the YaBB version is older e.g. YaBB 2.1 in your case.

However I am a comparative NewB myself, so I do not know the procedure for moving e.g from YaBB 2.1 to YaBB 2.5 to ensure that there was no forum data lost during the transition.

So I wonder Elrick what procedure you followed to move your forum software from 2.1 to 2.5?  I suspect that if you just moved the YaBB 2.5 "Upgrade" package files on top of a YaBB 2.1 installation, then some files assumed to be present in YaBB 2.3 were not found, and this may explain the anomalus behaviour.

Captain John of course would know better than me ... so forgive me if I have been at all unhelpful.

IP Logged

Elrick.
Forum Moderator
Beta Testers

YaBB 2.6.1
Reply #17 - Jun 18th, 2011 at 11:25am
Post Tools
Hi Captain John,

Indeed, a very puzzling event. Perhaps there are not many members here that upgraded from 2.1 to 2.5, hence no reported event as this one, which might be induced by the combination of 2.1-2.5 methinks.

Clearly a YaBB bug (or 'unintended feature' as there are a few of those in YaBB) resulting from the said combination - at least the discovery with the ex-member on the same page problem strongly suggests that.